My Madeleine

I’m no Proust but this box opens up a lot of pleasurable childhood memories for me. My mom kept it on her dresser forever. I’ve always thought it was beautiful but I kind of took it for granted. I only recently picked it up again and really studied it and saw how exquisite the tiny brushstrokes are and how beautifully detailed it is. It depicts a scene from a fairy tale. I grew up devouring fairy tales with gorgeous illustrations and drawings. The scene transports me back to being a child in the forest at my grandfather’s dacha. It all feels like a heady dream. It’s amazing what an object can do.

Posted by Nora

Leave a Reply

